The 2019 Learn & Earn Summer Youth Employment Program is now accepting applications!
Public DocumentsWorkforce Development Plans

Multi-Year Regional and Local Workforce Development Plans

Publish Date: Jan 1, 2018

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) requires local workforce development boards and chief elected officials to engage in an integrated regional and local workforce planning process to prepare, submit, and obtain approval of a single collaborative regional plan that incorporates local plans for each of the local areas within the given workforce planning region. These plans serve as a four-year action plans to develop, align, and integrate service delivery strategies to support the commonwealth's vision, strategic and operational goals .

The Southwest Planning Region is a nine-county workforce development planning region made up of five local workforce development areas (WDAs): Allegheny County WDA, City of Pittsburgh WDA, Southwest Corner WDA, Tri-County WDA, and Westmoreland-Fayette WDA. Four local workforce development boards (LWDB) oversee these local areas:

  • Partner4Work (Allegheny County WDA and City of Pittsburgh WDA)
  • Southwest Corner Workforce Development Board (SW Corner)
  • Tri-County Workforce Development Board (TCWIB)
  • Westmoreland-Fayette Workforce Development Board (Westmoreland-Fayette)

The Southwest Planning Region has posted its WIOA Multi-Year Regional and Local Plans for a 30-day public comment period from July 25 – August 24, 2017. These multi-year plans (PY2017 – PY2019) were developed as comprehensive expansions of the 1-Year Transitional Regional and Local plans submitted by the Southwest Planning Region to the PA Department of Labor & Industry in June 2016.

All comments on these planning documents should be submitted via email to